Flash Player Ubuntu 7.10

Don’t use gnash, it’s not usable yet. Remove it if You Have Installed it from the Following Commands :

sudo apt-get remove gnash

Ways For Installing Flash Player .

1) Download this: http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/get…9_linux.tar.gz

Right-click on it, and extract it. Then, open the terminal and cd to the directory with the files that were just extracted (if you’ll need help on this, let me know). Then do “sudo ./flash_installer” (I don’t remember the exact name of it.. but just do “sudo ./<name>”)

When it asks you for the path – I think you need to give it /usr/lib/mozilla or /usr/lib/firefox, can’t remember which. After that it’ll be done, restart firefox and it should work.

or
2)An Alternate and Easy Way is copy and Paste The Line Below in the Applications->Accessories->Terminal
sudo apt-get -y install flashplugin-nonfree
Now OPen Your FireFox and You Are Done.
Regards

One Response to “Flash Player Ubuntu 7.10”

  1. Guillermo Sandoval Says:

    Thank you for the above post.

    I followed the instructions using Terminal and this is what my system displays.

    sandovalge@sandovalge-laptop:~$ sudo apt-get -y install flashplugin-nonfree
    [sudo] password for sandovalge:
    Reading package lists… Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information… Done
    E: Couldn’t find package flashplugin-nonfree

    I also tried the following:

    When I use Firefox, the browser will ask me if I want to install the plugin. I say yes, then I get the same message: “couldn’t find flashplugin-nonfree”.

    Do you know what could be going on? It appears to me that maybe that plugin is no longer available?

    Any help you can provide will be greatly appreciated.

    Guillermo


Leave a Reply

